Awards & Fellowships

Obie Award, Best Play, 1966, The Journey of the Fifth Horse

Emmy Nomination, Outstanding Writing Achievement in Drama, 1966–1967, The Final War of Olly Winter

Straw Hat Award, Best New Play, 1973, The Poison Tree

Dramatist’s Guild’s, Hull- Warriner Award, 1976–1977, Cold Storage

Pulitzer Prize Nomination in Drama, 1978, Cold Storage

Playwrights USA Award, 1984, Buck

Kennedy Center, Fund For New American Plays, 1991, The Rug Merchants of Chaos

Rockefeller Foundation Fellowship, 1966, 1968

Guggenheim Foundation Fellowship, 1970

National Endowment for the Arts Fellowship, 1974, 1986-87

Honored by the Rockefeller Foundation with a Playwright-In-Residence fellowship for sustained contribution to American Theater, 1975